Pointless festivals


Assalamualaikum Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

I remember when we used to live in Manchester, the worst place for practicing your deen, when it was round about Halloween. Our street was peaceful and quiet, with barely any children that used to live there, so we hardly got any knocks on our door, asking for sweets. But once, however, it was 9 o’clock at night, and we heard a knock on the door. I remember my mum, her confused expression matching ours. Who could  it be? She asked me to open the door, and when I did, to my fright, I saw this monster glaring at me with its yellow bloodshot eyes.

I almost laughed at my stupidity when the boy took his mask off, and said the custom “Trick or treat!”. I explained to him that we don’t really celebrate Halloween, as it’s not part of out religion, and he understood instantly, saying, “Yeah, actually, same here.. I don’t even know why I’m celebrating it.”

When he went, I found myself thinking, if you’re not supposed to celebrate something, why do it? The boy was just following some sort of tradition that the western culture have, and relishing it greatly, maybe because of the sweets he thinks he is going to get, or maybe so he doesn’t get left out.

My point is, that you get alot of influence  from the western society, and you have to be careful what things are permissable to follow, and which could be outright haram. The boy knew what he was doing was wrong, yet he had no-one to stop him, so he just carried on.

Alhamdulillah, my mum told me strictly what was permissable and what wasn’t, and she forbade me doing any of the haram activities that my non-muslim friends might have been doing. I was angry at her at the time, but as I have grwon up and matured abit, I know what she did was the best for me. She helped me grow up in the best of the environments, not letting me get sucked in too much, and alhamdulillah, it worked.

So people, don’t get too involved with all these celebrations that are wrong, and also, find out why they are wrong, so whenever you find the chance, try to spread the message about why its wrong, and shouldn’t be practiced.

Assalamualaikum

Leave a comment

Filed under Allah, Islam, Miscellaneous

Leave a Reply

