Do you have a boyfriend?


“EVERY week I meet two high school girls at a place in Jeddah where I attend classes. Most of their excited talk revolves around the ‘hottest’ guy in their school to the weekly sundry crushes they have. The girls are ever-inquisitive about how many boyfriends I have, and have even managed to peep at my phone’s contact book, stopping at every male contact to look askance at me and ask: ‘This must be your boyfriend, no?’

Sometimes, in social gatherings, the ‘are you married?’ or ‘are you engaged’ questions are replaced with ‘do you have a boyfriend?’

Call me old-fashioned or simply passion-proof, I admit I have never been fascinated by my schoolmates’, and later, college mates’, obsession with the B-word. Yes, Boyfriend. ‘Top Secrets’ are kept, classes are bunked, rumors are made and even fights are picked up because of the B-word.

Why are we girls so fixated over what can be best described as an illicit non-marital (similar to extra-marital) relationship?………………….”

An excellent article I think everyone should read.

Full article @ Girls Talk – Do you have a boyfriend?


Leave a comment

Filed under Allah, Hijaab, Islam, Miscellaneous, Parents

Leave a Reply

