Some people these days…


Our religion is the most beautiful religion of all. Why are we not embracing it? Why do we ignore the importance of knowing our religion? People these days are too caught up in wordly things that don’t matter now, and definitley won’t matter in the hereafter; like “hmm, which car should I buy Honda or Toyota.. should i buy normal, seven seater or 3 door.. which colour?.. Red looks nice no no, sorry i like the blue one.. well the silver looks rather eyecatching………………..” and on it goes.

Who cares what kind of car you get? Are you doing all of this so you make a nice impression to your neighbours? Infact, forget making a nice impression, you WANT them to know that you are well off – by having a nice car etc.. whatever happened to religion? do we take notice of what we say, that it could be makrooh (disliked act) or maybe even haraam?
People do all kind of things without giving a second thought to what they are doing.. and then come the excuses and the complication of different types of muslims… For example, (life story coming up.. :P)A couple of months or so before, I was sat in arabic class ”learning” arabic, and this guy comes up with a question that is directed to the teacher. (the teacher is from tunisia and he is a muslim)

::: “Sir, is music haraam?
Now I’m sure we all know the answer to that, and with certainty, we would all say yes. However i was very shocked that and annoyed at the teacher when he blatantly said no, like everyone would agree. I was amazed as were 4 other students (there were only 6 students in the class) and disagreed strongly. From that point onwards, we had an argument that lasted for the rest of the lesson, all 4 students were backing me up, as we were not prepared to let him go and have the last word.
So we argued; boy did we argue! His point was that it is makrooh, so i was like if it is makrooh then why do you do it? And he’s like it’s not haraam so it’s not forbidden, and anyways too many people are dying in muslim countries and we are too caught in having beards and having above the ankle and not listening to music and all of that stuff. WHAT!! I was fuming! I said yes all that matters but we still have to pay attention to small details of our religion! you might think that music and hijaab and beard is small, but infact they aren’t and we have to pay great attention to them, as after all they still are part of the religion! He then came up with this: you are extremists. WHAT!! He said that there is a hadeeth where the Prophet (pbuh) said that it’s better to be in the middle that both extremes. I said, ok, so how come the prophet used to wear above the ankle? How come the prophet had beard, and how come he never listened to music? How many people were dying in his time? How many muslims being killed? Yet didnt he still do all the little little things? Just because major things are happening, doesn’t mean that you have an excuse to listen to music does it? Well.. he had nothing to say to that. The next lesson, I gave him my proof, and he read it and said ‘fairly’ that if I want I could go on the internet and print out proof that music is halal, since different people have different ideas. I went mad!! I was so annoyed that I asked him what muslim he was. When he said ‘Im a moderate Muslim. I want to make Islam better for people‘, I just shut up. What can I say to that? Moderate Muslims are changing the religion to how they like it, which if you think about it is haraam- it’s plain Bid’ah. I gave up trying; I literally shut up talking to him from then on. What was the point? He would never undertsand anyway. I’d done my bit.. well what else can I do?

People think religion is a joke, that it’s just some thing you pay attention to when you have time, or when you can be bothered. Its not like that. Religion is THE MOST IMPORTANT THING YOU CAN GET. IT’S THE ONLY THING THAT WE ARE HERE FOR!! SO START PAYING ATTENTION TO IT!

Leave a comment

Filed under Allah, Death, Islam, Prophets, Qur'an

Leave a Reply

